Mediterranean Gull, Whoopers and Greenfinch at last

5 Nov

A brief drive up along Druridge bay for me today was dampened by drizzle, but still some interesting sights.

Snab point at high tide had three red throated divers along with the eiders and gulls – the first time I’ve had good views in Northumberland.

Cresswell pools had my first whooper swans of the winter – I counted seven.

Amble harbour was fairly quiet – the usual cormorants, eider and assorted gulls, but it was nice to see an adult mediterranean gull on the rocks as well.

A very brief stop off at Cambois had little by way of waders, but as I left Battleship Wharfe I came across 20 brightly coloured finches lightening up the grey scenery. The first flock of greenfinches I’ve seen in a long while, and they finally nudged my greenfinch count above my osprey count for 2011!

Leave a Reply

