Goldeneye and Whoopers at Big Water

16 Nov

I only had a very short break at lunchtime today and headed for Big Waters NR in the misty sunshine.

The woods near the car park were lifting with blackbirds gorging on the berries, and wrens and robins were skulking in the undergrowth. A single redwing was also enjoying the feast in the trees as was a lone female bullfinch and a few small groups of long-tailed tits were flitting about.

On the water swans dominated as usual – dozens of mute swans and 5 or 6 whoopers, along with numbers of greylag and canada geese. No sign of the barnacle geese that were there a couple of weeks ago. Goldeneyes, Mallards, Tufties and Wigeon were the only ducks I could see from the car park end of the lake.

4 Responses to “Goldeneye and Whoopers at Big Water”

  1. The Liverbirder November 16, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

    Two Bewick’s reported today t Big waters with two Whoopers. If you took some photos it would be worth a double-check.

    • bedlingtonwanderer November 16, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

      Hi Gordon – I didn’t have my camera with me unfortunately but I’m pretty sure that all I saw were whoopers or mutes. I was only there for 20 minutes or so though so thats not to say I wasn’t too early (or late). I might see if I can squeeze in a quick visit on my way to work tomorrow, or failing that I ought to have scope for a long lunchbreak.

      • Gary (Vipers) November 16, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

        As far as I Understand it the Bewick’s have been there for 2 days now. They were still there at 3 Oclock this afternoon, but they are very easily overlooked.

      • bedlingtonwanderer November 16, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

        Do you know which end of the lake they frequent? I was viewing from the concrete platform near the car park and so the two ends of the lake were obscured from my standpoint by reeds and bushes. I have accrued enough time this week at work to allow me a couple of hours tomorrow lunchtime so I can go and have a proper look. I must admit I wasn’t aware that there had been bewicks there or I would have paid a bit more attention but as I was trying to count how many whoopers were there I was looking at all the swans I could see and none of them struck me as small or with extensive black on the bills but like I say I could only see part of the lake.

        Anyway I’ll go take a look tomorrow – I have seen bewicks in the county twice before but if they are on Big Waters should get some decent views and I’ve never had the chance to get photos.

Leave a Reply

